Martin-Logo-white.png

Academic Advising

What is Academic Advising

Advising is an essential cornerstone to your academic success as a student at Martin University. Your advisor is a key resource that can connect you with resources and serve as a guide throughout your academic program. Things your advisor can help with include: reviewing your graduation plan, explaining University policies & procedures, recommending courses each semester, discussing career goals, connecting you with resources to help you succeed, and much more!

Who is my advisor?

Use the following steps or look on your student portal

Image by Dan Dimmock

How do I prepare for an appointment?

  • Review your degree audit on your student portal to see what courses you have remaining

  • Familiarize yourself with the course offering for the next semester so you have an idea of what is available

  • Create a list of questions you want to be sure to discuss with your advisor so you can remember to ask them during the appointment

Advising F.A.Q.

 

Faculty Advisors

Undergraduate students with 30 or less credit hours
30 or fewer credit hours
Jawann Johnson
jdjohnson@martin.edu

Faculty Advisors

Undergraduate students with 30 or more credit hours
31-89 credit hours
Sydney Shackelford
sshackelford@martin.edu

Faculty Advisors

Undergraduate students with 90+ credit hours
Program
Advisor Name
Advisor Contact
Addictions Counseling
J.L. Mize
jmize@martin.edu
Addictions Counseling
Dr. Bradford Hathaway
bhathaway@martin.edu
Applied Science in Health Care Management
Dawn Moore
dmoore@martin.edu
Applied Science in Software Applications
Dawn Moore
dmoore@martin.edu
Business Administration
Dawn Moore
dmoore@martin.edu
Criminal Justice
Michael Mitchell
mmitchell@martin.edu
Early Childhood Education
Viveca Carter
vcarter@martin.edu
Liberal Arts
Dr. Martin Greenan
mgreenan@martin.edu
MASTER DEGREE: Community Psychology
Psychology
J.L. Mize
jmize@martin.edu
Psychology
Dr. Bradford Hathaway
bhathaway@martin.edu
Religious Studies
Dr. Michael Nichols
mnichols@martin.edu
Teacher Preparation: K-6th Grade
Viveca Carter
vcarter@martin.edu
Teacher Preparation: PreK-3rd Grade
Viveca Carter
vcarter@martin.edu